Not what I expected

I’m going to be honest with you… I had no idea what I’d gotten myself into when I decided to take lessons with the new instructor.

The new-to-me instructor is a USDF Bronze Medalist, an “L” graduate, and a graduated of the “Train the Trainers” Western Dressage program. She’s also super nice, and so far everyone I’ve talked to has loved her training style.

My first lesson was last Saturday.

Everything went well until I unloaded Joy at the trainers barn. After that, Joy was a spit-fire.  Couldn’t hold still, screaming her head off, dragging me around…

20170513_095133

The pic above pretty much captures the situation in a nutshell.

The trainer suggested we work on ground work first, and attempt to get Joy’s brain involved before doing anything else.  I was relieved. I think Joy would’ve been okay to ride, but heck… she wouldn’t even hold still long enough to get her tacked up.

When the trainer said ground work, what I didn’t anticipate was that the trainer meant….
Parelli.

I don’t like to be closed minded about any type of training, but most of the people I’ve met who follow Parelli are utter kooks.

Total kooks.

So, I was skeptical…

The trainer started me off with the basics. And wouldn’t you know it… within minutes Joy was the quiet, calm pony I know and love at home!

We did a few of the “games” with varying levels of success. Apparently the only one I can master is the “friendly” game (you rub the carrot stick on them). I nailed that one!

This pic is showing Joy ground tying within 15 minutes of actually starting the lesson.

JoysSecondTimeOffProperty

I may not be a total convert, but… holy smokes it helped Joy.

 

I was a little disappointed that I didn’t get to ride, because I really need help with my position. However, the bigger reason for taking lessons on Joy was to get Joy comfortable with hauling to new places by herself. I think these experiences will help her gain the confidence she needs to do that.

So, to recap… it wasn’t what I wanted the lesson to be, but I think it was the lesson Joy and I needed.

2 thoughts on “Not what I expected

  1. Parelli people who actually know what they are doing and why they are doing it and that all horses do not react the same to any given procedure and that you need to adjust accordingly, usually get results. It’s the amateurs who think that there’s only one way to do something that get into trouble. Of course, there are always professional devotees of a “method” that can get themselves into trouble because they can’t see “outside the method”. The best trainers take whatever works from all the techniques they have learned and apply them according to the situation. Looks like you will be OK here.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I think you hit the nail on the head. The good trainers aren’t limited to one singular training style, so there’s no reason to become cult-ish about Parelli.
      Seems like the devotees are the most vocal too, so those are the one’s that people like me hear/see.

      Like

Leave a Reply

