The Loot

I snuck off to the local 4H tack sale Monday night to try to find shipping boots for a pony.

This specific annual tack sale is the mother of all tack sales. It’s 40,000 square feet of space that is utterly jam packed with horse related items being sold. There’s stuff piled on top of other stuff and every inch is filled.

When you first enter, it feels like Christmas just came. You want to dive in and never resurface. But… after walking around for a while it starts to feel a bit… overwhelming. Eventually your eyes can’t even focus anymore, and you randomly start bumping into people and merchandise. The throngs of people moving and milling about make it difficult to even walk down the aisles. It’s too hot and that winter sweater you’re wearing is making you sweat like a Michigander in a Florida summer. You see people you know, but all you can do is shout a hurried “hello” as the crowd pushes you down the aisle.

It’s crazy. Awesome, but crazy.

I had two items I really wanted. Shipping boots and a head guard for Joy. I want to pad her up for our first hauling journey this year. I walked the ENTIRE 40,000 sq feet before finding either of the items. Oodles and oodles of bridles, stirrups, saddles, halters, etc. There were cart harnesses, carts, itty-bitty saddles for little kids, clothes galore, jewelry, horse snacks, bits, spurs, more bits, and even girl scout cookies. I found one pair of shipping boots, and two choices in head guards. Slim pickings for the items I was there to purchase.

Shipping boots = $10.00
Head guard = $5.00

All of my shaving forks were missing tines, so I bought a new head.

Shavings fork head thingy = $8.00

I was winding my way back out of the throngs of people and tables when I stumbled on a polo wrap holder! I have wanted one of these for two years now. I thought it was display only at first. I was about to walk on when I realized someone was saying my name.

wp-image-1200980632jpg.jpg

I look up and there’s a friend behind the table. This was her polo wrap rack! She sold it to me for $10. I was joking about how the polo’s needed to go with the rack, so she sold me those too for $10.

Polo wrap rack = $10.00
Polo wraps = $10.00

Total cost for all my loot = $43.00 + $1.00 to enter the tack sale.

Not too shabby and it satisfied my tack shopping cravings (for a while at least).  I did succumb to the impulse purchase of the polo wrap holder, but I really  wanted one of these. Currently all my wraps are strewn across the floor of the tack room in haphazard piles. This’ll be nice to keep things more organized!

 

Now that I have shipping boots and a head guard for Joy, we can begin the hauling adventures!

I may just buy a roll of bubble wrap, wrap that sucker up into a giant ball and roll her on to the trailer for shipping. Hahaha

3 thoughts on “The Loot

  1. You must have been in the middle of a crowd when you passed my portrait booth! I’m usually working on a small watercolor while I’m in the booth, so even if I had known what you look like I probably wouldn’t have seen you either. I’ve been a fixture at this tack sale since 2011 and in my biased opinion it’s definitely the best one in the region.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was so focused on finding shipping boots that I didn’t even noticeany art work. I probably passed righy by you.. 😦 me and my tunnel vision. D’oh. You were probably sitting next to the best pair of pony shipping boots I never saw too. Haha
      How’d it go while you were there? Were you able to get out and shop a bit too?

      Liked by 1 person

      • No, I was sitting next to the most expensive Western show shirts you never saw! I don’t get to shop because there are no sales ahead of the opening time and once the sale is open I need to stay in my booth. So I get to see what’s on each side of me and on the other side of the aisle, but that’s about it. Fortunately I didn’t have a pressing need for anything! At longer shows, like 2- or 3-day ones, there are often lulls in the traffic flow and then I can sneak out and look around a bit.

        Like

Leave a Reply

