The Ides of March

March always seems to bring false hopes and then crushes them! 

It’s spring.  It’s winter.  It’s spring.  It’s winter…  Ugh. 

It has been jumping 20 degree’s within 2 hours some days.  Then the winds came. Reports of 45 to 60 mph winds.  Tree’s are down all over.  Our power went out. Internet went out.

I got a bonus from work!!  Yay!  Money for hay,  and I promised the hubby he could spend a bit on himself this time.  He was happy! 

Then one of our barn kitties died.  My favorite one.  The snuggly one.  *sob*

Then Ava colicked.  You know how horses who are colicky will look at their flanks,  or kick at them.  Not Ava.  She curled her upper lip constantly.  When I put her grain in her bin,  she layed down.  Didn’t roll.  Never once looked at her sides.  She layed down and curled her lip up.  It was the weirdest thing. 

Lip curl

Of course we still had no power and it was 9:30 at night with 50mph winds.  Of course. 

I called the vet immediately.  Slight impaction.  Vet worked on her for about 2 hours (mainly because Ava is not a good patient). 

And poof… there went the bonus money.

Hubby no longer so happy.

I had money.  Now I have no money. 

*sigh*

The icing…  The vet had left,  it’s nearly midnight,  and I’m sitting in the barn watching Ava and the other horses when I hear loud cracking noises and a solid thump.  The kind of thump that shakes the ground.  Everyone jumps.

Tree fell. No biggie.  But I check fence lines anyway,  and yup,  big tree right across the fence.  Grrr…

Had to lock everyone in for the night.  Which I guess was good.  It kept Ava company.  But I had to drag the hose out and fill water buckets in the middle of the night in freezing temps. 

3 hours sleep and hubby and I are back up and clearing fallen trees in the morning light. 

I’m sore. 

And I look like the walking dead. 

It’s only the 10th of March.  I shudder to see what the rest of March looks like. 

Stay safe everyone! 

4 thoughts on “The Ides of March

  1. I’ve been known to say that I would give up a year of my life if we could just skip March each year.

    By the way, the lip-curl thing may not be as strange as it seems. My old Thoroughbred did that for hours before I had to put him down with a twisted gut (lots of existing physical problems would have made surgery not only impractical but unfair to him). He was also the stoic type, so I’m thinking maybe that’s just how some horses express their pain. He never rolled or looked at his sides either.

    Anyhow, here’s wishing for a less turbulent “rest of March”.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

