New Year Eve – 2015 Recap

Well, this past year has been really non-dressage related. Rather mundane, and yet quite exciting and stressful. Disappointing, yet exhilarating!

I like to keep my lows and highs in balance.  😉

My Year Overview:

I bought a house and almost lost everything because I couldn’t afford two houses at the same time, and couldn’t sell the old house.

ABHouse

Finally sold the old house. Yay!

Jessie got caste and I thought she was a goner.

wpid-20150327_091747.jpg

Jessie bounced back!

Jessie stuck a stick in her leg and the tendon sheath got infected. I thought she was a goner.

wpid-20150717_195525.jpg

Jessie bounced back!

Ava got laminitis. I thought she was a goner.

Right Front

Right Front

Ava bounced back!

I bought a pony! Pony tries to brain herself on the trailer ride home. Pony is scared of everything.

00909_ksG80FCkPjB_600x450

Pony over comes fear and is awesome Pony!

Giant spiders attack us!

Giant spiders disappear to wherever giant spiders go….

I bought a saddle for Joy!

Wintec 250 Pony Dressage Saddle Flocked

My butt doesn’t fit it.

Joy Overview:

This is Joy a month after I brought her home.

wpid-20150507_195033.jpg

Joy in August (I don’t have any good current pictures):

wpid-20150801_110315.jpg

 

When I first got Joy:

Current under saddle:

I know that right now Joy and I look like ass. I know this. But I’m so thrilled with how far Joy has come since April. I bought her in April. I rode her twice that month. I haven’t been consistently riding her since I’ve gotten her, and she’s really come a long way with very little work. When I brought her home she could barely steer. She had no real ‘go’ buttons. There wasn’t such a thing as an outside rein, leg aids had no meaning, and the seat was just the thing that sat on her. When I asked for a halt she would jut her chin out and brace her entire neck against the rein. And the ever present curl of the chin to chest when I touched the reins for steering.

And yet now? We have an outside rein, we have go buttons (better than before), we have leg aids and can do lateral movements, and we have some semblance of contact now. She’s beginning to soften and come under when I half-halt now. She’s no where near as wobbly underneath me. And her curling has subsided to only occurring only during the most stressful of situations.

We went on our first group trail ride together in August. We’ve gone on our first of several solo trail rides together. We’ve over come tarps and plastic bags under foot and trailing behind us. We can canter on the trail! We even took a really small jump! We’ve seen deer, turkey, squirrels, and a chipmunk (that ran beneath us).  We’ve walked calmly past incongruous semi-trailers, blocks of stone, and a lady who suddenly appeared from within a hammock in the middle of the woods.

We have manners when leading now. She’ll walk beside me on a loose lead and a flat halter, stays a polite distance away, AND she’ll even back up if I just lean my upper body back when I’m next to her. She moves over (on the ground) from finger tip control, she stands still for mounting from a mounting block now, and she’s figured out that saddling from port or starboard is no big deal (although this seems to need consistent re-enforcement).

I still need to work on trailering, clippers, going to new places, and show environments.

And Ava… I have to get Ava back in shape and start riding her consistently (3 days a week). It’s been two years since the stifle injury. She trots and canters fine in the pasture now. I’m wondering if she would stay sound under consistent work, or if she’d buckle under it. She may forever be a light riding horse, but I’m still loath to write her off completely…

Thank you for following me this year!! You guys are the greatest, and I’m so happy you’ve joined me on this journey!!  I hope that this coming year I’ll have more exciting and happy things to share with you. And hopefully they’ll be more related to dressage. 🙂

Thank You!

 

p.s. I just heard of this band, and I LOVE their songs. It’s probably the donkey that did me in.

 

5 thoughts on “New Year Eve – 2015 Recap

  1. You guys don’t look like ass, and I’ve thought she was AWESOME right from the start. I love her and think she has shown HUGE improvement with you riding her. She already looks so smart and sassy under saddle. I can’t wait to see her do her thing at a show! :0)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

