Ava update

Ava has made it clear that the pitiful handful of grain she’s getting is not satisfactory. The other morning I was changing her hay bag out for a full one when Ava lunged and snapped the air above my head. A split second after that she beat feet to the back of her stall with this “OMG! I’m in trouble now!!” look on her face.  Throughout this whole event, I was standing there holding a massive hay bag in mid-air while my sleep addled brain tried to figure out what just happened.

Moral of story – Hungry mares need watchful eyes.

I received the Heiro supplement in the mail and started Ava on it last Wednesday. It says to start them on 2 scoops, twice a day, for 5 days. I’m only giving Ava a tiny handful of grain in order to give her her bute. The Heiro stuff smells like cinnamon. I think it smells good. Ava made it clear I’ve ruined her pitiful portion of grain. She won’t eat the grain at all now. Which is saying a lot, because I’ve rarely seen Ava turn down anything.

So, I started shoving it down her throat like wormer. She’s sure I’m trying to kill her.  She goes to great lengths to prevent me from getting it in her mouth, but when I’ve just spent $150 dollars for this stuff, then it’s going in her one way or another.

 

I don’t think she looks fat. Maybe I’m biased. What do you think?

image

 

I have no idea what I’m doing. I have a piece of styrofoam the vet gave me, a bottle of bute, and some Heiro supplement. How does that fix this?!?!

I don’t know what I’m doing!!!!!

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Ava update

  1. My horse, Winn, was diagnosed with laminitis over six months ago. I feel your pain. It’s scary and aggravating and really difficult to find a safe diet for them. Wishing you the best.

    Like

  2. Honestly, what’s helped the most and seems to be the only thing that everyone agrees on, is a good farrier. The second I got a very good therapeutic shoer, who put heartbars on, my horse was almost completely sound. I also put him on the Smart hoof Circulate Pellets, which seemed to help, but you probably don’t need those since you have the Heiro. I try to really keep track of the NSC intake levels (below 10%). Deciding what to feed them is the worst. I started out with a coconut feed, which didn’t seem to help his weight or muscle tone enough. He hates beet pulp. Right now I have him on Triple Crown Lite so he gets the vitamins, protein, and minerals that he needs, along with their ground flax and he’s maintaining muscle much better. I’m going to X-ray him again soon to see where we are at, but he seems to be doing well, no lameness.

    It’s really hard to come up with a feeding program where you don’t have to starve them and for every person that has something they swear by, there is someone or something out there saying that it shouldn’t be fed to a laminitic horse. I’d say the most important thing to keep in mind is the NSC and other soluble carbohydrate levels she is getting and making sure she gets a lot of Omega fatty acids. Vitamin E is also good. It’s kind of a trial and error process finding safe feed that they will eat and do well on, but you will find the right combo for her in time.

    P.S. You probably already know all of this, but it’s the only tips and advice I could come up with right now. (:

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!! I’ll take all the tips and advice possible!

      I’m still having problems figuring out the NSC of the hay. I was hoping there was some site that could give an average based on location and type of hay, but couldn’t find anything like that. I read that I can have my hay tested. I’ll probably end up doing that, but I have to sit down and figure out where, and how, to send it.

      Thanks again!

      Like

Leave a Reply

