Saddle for Joy

We finally had a few extra dollars available for a saddle for Joy.  I knew I needed a very short (lengthwise) saddle for Joy. There’s hardly any room between the back of her scapula and her last rib. Neither of my dressage saddles were short enough.

Saddle sellers never list the overall length of saddles. It’s seat size, tree size, gullet size, and flap length. Nothing ever about the length from pommel to cantle. And asking a seller to measure the length of the saddle gets some strange results. I had checked out all of our surrounding area’s tack shops, and none of them had anything short enough for Joy.

I scoured Craigslist. I could barely get a tree size from CL sellers, so that didn’t go so well.

My husband suggested a Wintec, which I promptly scoffed at because no true dressage rider would put their derriere in a Wintec, am I right?

After exhausting all other avenues, I bought a Wintec 250 Pony Dressage saddle. It has a 15″ seat. I have some bum cheek spill over on the sides, but surprisingly it’s rather comfy. The saddle is made for a child. The flaps are extra short. Its the first saddle I’ve owned where my lower calf isn’t hitting saddle flap.  Other than the fat spillage in the seat, the flaps are perfect sized for me. 

What I like the most is the changeable tree/gullet width. I had to change it to a wide, but it fits pretty well now. Length is good, the saddle is little so it doesn’t look like its engulfing Joy like regular sized saddles do.

Stock photo of saddle:

Wintec 250 Pony Dressage Saddle Flocked

The picture doesn’t really give an accurate representation on size. This thing is small! Plus, it’s very light weight.

It’s so little!!

Also, another bonus… because it’s synthetic, I can use it in the rain. And since I don’t have an indoor anymore, and it rains constantly, this means I can still ride without worrying I’m destroying my saddle.  (I have to remove all potential reasons not to ride, or I won’t ride.)

I also bought Joy a pair of bell boots. Big Thank You to my Mom for these. She gave me an amazon gift card for my birthday, and I had finally decided what I wanted to use it on. I bought the Professional Choice bell boots that are supposed to stand up to close range rifle fire or some such thing. I don’t know. They called it ballistic material.

image

Professional’s Choice Ballistic Overreach Bell Boots

I’ve never actually used bell boots on any horse I’ve owned before. Joy’s the first one I’ve had that catches her fronts with her hinds. Luckily she’s never hurt herself, but I feel better knowing she’s got some protection. Especially because I want to start working on her go forward buttons. I was afraid the “get up and go” I wanted would have her striking herself.

Now all I need are those nifty white, fleece dressage boots, and Joy will be rocking the dressage look. 🙂

Speaking of the dressage look, I think I’m over-compensating trying to fit in with the dressage crowd because I don’t feel like Joy is really a proper dressage horse. Not that I’ve ever owned a proper dressage horse, but I’ve been extra insecure about it lately.  I think if Joy were horse height it wouldn’t bother me quite as much, but because it’s a combo of her being a non-traditional breed for dressage AND a pony, I’m feeling like I’ll be judged unsuitable for dressage before I even step foot in an arena.  Like I’ll be dismissed without even being given a shot.

Add in the fact that I picked her out as my mount… I have no faith in my abilities to pick out a horse. So, if Joy is deemed totally unsuitable, then it proves I suck at picking out horses suitable for dressage. Which I already know I suck at it, but I hate being proven right on that point.

Oh well.. I’m just pondering why I feel this strong need to dressage Joy up as a dressage horse, and look the part, when there’s NO ONE around me that gives a shit what Joy looks like. It’s idiotic. I’m being weird and I don’t like it when I’m irrational.

….

Joy’s been interesting to own. Unlike Ava, Joy lays down quite often, and she’ll let you walk right up to her and pet her.  I still, after 5 years, have never gotten close enough to touch Ava when she’s laying down.

It’s been fun to be able to do these kinds of things with Joy. She’s such a loving little gal!

 

image

Joy (laying down) and Jessie (in back). They take turns standing guard over each other.

Today I get to clean out the rest of the trunks and stuff from the tack room so that I can start using it to store extra grain and bedding through the winter. I’m trying to figure out the best way to organize it. It’s kind of neat to have my own tack room.

 

4 thoughts on “Saddle for Joy

  1. Dressage means “to learn”. Any horse can be a dressage horse, and any rider can be a dressage rider. Because basically it means that you are learning. Good Luck with your training, and congratulations on your saddle and tack room!

    Best wishes

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Carol’s comment is exactly what I was going to write! This is why my favorite book is Herbermann’s “Dressage Formula”; none of the three horses he is riding in the photos is a typical “dressage” horse; (in fact, at his clinics one sees the gamut from Lippizaners, Friesians, OTTBs, to grade horses and even a 13.2 hand Halflinger). Good training, dressage, helps all horses and ponies!
    Nice to read about the saddle. My friend has a small mustang, 13.1, that we’re working with but very difficult to find the right saddle. So far her Wintec All Purpose is the best fit but I’ll pass along the info about the Wintec Pony saddle . thanks! Keep up the good work. Always enjoy your posts and photos.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Amy! I’ll have to put that book on my Christmas list.

      As far as saddles, I had also read the Tekna and County saddles are good choices for short backed ponies. I would’ve loved to have gotten my hands on a small county, but when I saw one I didn’t have the money. And when I had the money, I couldn’t find one. Ha.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

