Re-enforcing the stalls

Because of Ava’s quirks, we are sustaining quite a lot of stall damage. Lately, when Ava leaned against the wall (and I mean lean, as in full weight) I was hearing some ominous groaning and cracking going on. Plus, she’d cracked the top board nearly in half. I knew that stall wall wasn’t going to hold out much longer if we didn’t do something to shore it up.

My amazing hubby installed a 4″ x 6″ post to the center stall divider (lag bolted into the rafters and floor) in hopes of preventing Ava from smashing, kicking, or brute force pushing, the stall wall down. He did this in 90 degree heat, with humidity off the charts.

I, of course, helped!

First, I cleaned the area where the brushes are stored. Then, I scrubbed out all the water buckets and the water tank, I brought hubby a couple of screws, disinfected all of the brushes, and cleaned some more stuff.  I tried knocking down cobwebs, but mainly succeed in dropping spiders in my hair.

I think at that point Hubby was getting a bit miffed at my lack of true participation, so he asked me to help him hold a stall mat while he cut it to fit. I put my entire weight against that mat to keep it still, but amazingly my fat ass wasn’t heavy enough to hold it…

He put the toe of his boot on the mat…. it held still.  The toe!

I feel like letting everyone know that the “24/7 turnout miracle cure for all bad behaviors” is a farce. Ava has total freedom and 24/7 access to pasture, she has free choice hay, she has buddies, and a big pasture to stretch her legs in.  She stands in the stall 23 hours a day and kicks (even if no one is near her) or leans on the walls.

I bought your lies, you hippies. Never again!
😉

One thought on “Re-enforcing the stalls

Leave a Reply

