L is for Loser

I cobbled together a bridle for the pony today. I surprisingly had a bit that fits, and it’s a D ring (bonus). I used to have a full check, but I think my previous barn was the lucky recipient of it. Which sucks, because I’d had that bit for well over 20 years.

I stole Jessie’s western bridle, and add a nose band from some bridle parts I had left over. It’s not like Jessie is ever going to use her bridle again. It’s not the greatest, but will do until I can buy a pony sized bridle.

I tried riding Joy today. It didn’t go so well. I don’t know… it wasn’t terrible, but I have no confidence in my riding abilities anymore. Joy is narrow and quick, and it’s hard to stay balanced on her. If she tries anything naughty, I’m not sure I can stay on. There’s just not much of her to sit on, no margin of error left or right if your weight shifts.

I’m disappointed in myself though… I got scared. Joy was excited, and I got scared that I’d lose control and get thrown.

I don’t want to fall off. Falling off hurts.

We ended on a good note though. She was listening, and walking flat footed. We only walked. I checked out her steering and breaks. Then brushed her down well, fed her some treats and made a fuss over her.

Then I rode Ava, who is wider than a drum… but she’s so comfy. We walked around the field behind the house. Loose rein. We saw two deer and a bunny.

I miss riding Ava

2 thoughts on “L is for Loser

    • That’s a really good idea. I’ll have to see who’s willing to drive out here to help for a few weeks. I wanted to do this on my own, but I’m not the 20 year old athlete I used to be.

      Like

Leave a Reply

