C is for Castles in the Air

** Warning: Random **

A friend of mine is looking at buying a horse. I had just agreed to buy a funky little pony and I get a link from my friend to a horse she’s looking at buying.

This is my purchase:

Screenshot_2015-03-24-21-02-22

 

Friend’s prospect (4 year old Andalusian):

horse

 

It’s so fancy that I don’t even know what color it is.

It comes with a fancy price tag too.

I got an email from a barn manager in OH about an upcoming Pam Goodrich clinic. I had asked the barn manager last year to let me know if Goodrich was coming back because I was desperate to lesson with her again. Desperate! Could damn near taste it.

Is that sick? I’m not sick. I just think Goodrich is freaking awesome. And scary. But really funny. and scary. And extremely knowledgeable and very patient.

I don’t have a horse to ride! I’m not paying $175 dollars for one lesson while riding a green-broke pony I purchased the month before. That’s ludicrous.

I’m a dressage rider who aspires to ride upper levels, but can only afford a lower level horse. I watch friends purchase gorgeous, well-bred warmbloods, but struggle to ride them.  It doesn’t matter what you buy. It matters how well you ride, and how much fun you have riding what you have. If you don’t have either, then quality of the horse will never matter.

** That’s my pep talk to myself. 

 

One thought on “C is for Castles in the Air

  1. I hear you. I have a thoroughbred. He’s not the best put together one, but far from the worst. When I go to recognized shows, I have the only thoroughbred in the 400 rides that weekend. The first recognized show I went to, I was stabled next to a big show barn who took a look at my horse and wouldn’t give me the time of day. I won my first test that weekend, put our blue ribbon on Mikey’s stall, and they were like, you won? I was like, damn straight! They spoke to me after that.

    You joined the unconventional dressage horse club, own it! We’re not about to win the USDF finals at Grand Prix, but we work harder than everyone else and do the work correctly, and unless the horse is really not put together well, they’ll do well. We’re better riders for it.

    There’s a German riding master who comes in to our area every now and then, and I love riding with him. He likes working with my horse. I hate showing up to those lessons without something new to work on- he and I have worked flying changes, getting more collection and sit out of my horse, and canter pirouettes. It’s expensive to ride with him, so I’ll see him again when Mikey is back to tip top shape in like 4 months. No reason to pay that much to do long and low!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

