What I’ve been up to

I haven’t been riding in over 4 weeks. It feels like a lifetime. My riding prior to that was sporadic anyway, so it’s been one, maybe two rides a week here and there.

However, we’ve had some big life changes. We bought a new house (needs some TLC).

image

But more importantly, it came with a barn andΒ a pasture (which needs a LOT of TLC).

image

** I’m in the pink sweater trying to pick up frozen poop.

AND… Β it came with a 30 year old Quarter pony (TLC is only needed because she’s adorable).
image

 

Ava’s enjoying the new pasture, but the old Quarter pony rules the roost. Which is good… it keeps Ava’s ego in check.
image

 

Ava has already broken the stall, which I fixed all by myself!

I was so proud of myself.

Before:
image

After:
image

 

Ava seems to be settling in well and seems to enjoy the ability to roam the large pasture (now that the snow is melting).
image

 

There’s a lot of work to be done to get this place up to fully functional again. All the posts need to be replaced, the paddock dug out from under the mountain of poop, and the lots of wood and pointy things to clean up as the snow melts. But, it sure is a beautiful piece of property.

 

image

image

 

The best part about this move is that there are fields and wooded trails surrounding the property, so Ava and I can go on trail rides at any time.

With moving houses, moving horses, getting hay, and trying to get pasture and stalls “horse proofed”, it’s been a very busy few weeks.

But now I am almost set to finally buy a new ride-able horse. Finally. I think. Maybe.

I hope….

More on that to come.

12 thoughts on “What I’ve been up to

  1. Congratulations! Looks like a beautiful home and farm; nothing better than better able to look out the window and see your horses in the pasture.

    Like

  2. Wow, congratulations! What an exciting time πŸ™‚ Hopefully you have some tractors to help with all that field maintenance and it’s not just you out there with shovel vs mountains of poo? Good luck with everything, keep us posted on the remodeling!

    Like

Leave a Reply

