Blog hop for fun

Viva Carlos

I’m late posting this…. by about a month. 🙂

October’s 10 Questions

“If you always put limits on everything you do, physical or anything else, it will spread into your work and into your life. There are no limits, there are only plateaus, and you must not stay there, you must go beyond them.” – Bruce Lee

1. How many pairs of breeches/jods do you own?
Two cheap pair. Finances restrict me.

2. How many horses have you ridden?
Gosh, I’m not sure… at least 30 that I can name. There are a lot of horses I can’t name, but have ridden over the years. I spent a solid three years being guinea pig, catch rider for my trainer. and for a long time I used to have a lot of people ask me to exercise their horses while they were out of town (I cost nothing and they trusted me not to be crazy). Plus, I’ve owned 7 horses over the years.

3. How many trainers have you had?
6 trainers – includes before dressage time.
* 2 dressage trainers (not including clinics).
* 1 western trainer.
* 2 HJ trainer.
* 1 all purpose trainer (4-H type trainer)

4. How many barns have you ridden at?
7 barns (includes barns from childhood). I got kicked out of one. Ha.

5. What is the name of the horse you consider yourself to have the greatest bond with?
Victor Victoria. My NSH gelding that I bought as a green broke four year old. I had him for five years and we spent a great deal of time together. He had a quirky personality, was extremely intelligent, and had a huge heart. Ava’s a very close second, but it’s hard to compete against a childhood pony.

6. What is your favorite show name you’ve ever encountered?
“Your Girlfriend” was the show name. So it was announced “Mike X riding Your Girlfriend”. Haha

7. What do you consider your greatest weakness or flaw in riding?
My seat is subpar to where it needs to be skill wise. And I still fall back too much on strength to get things done when finesse fails. I’ve been working really hard to break this habit.

8. What do you consider to be your greatest strength?
My feel and timing are pretty good. And I’m patient and flexible in adapting to what the horse needs (usually).

9. Have you ever leased a horse?
Not really. Most people let me ride their horses for free. When I was a kid, if I couldn’t get a ride on a trained horse, then I convinced people to let me break out and train their unused horses – which was a huge learning experience for me. I’m thankful I had those opportunities.

10. What is the name of the first horse you rode?
I don’t remember the horse’s name. He was an appy with a beautiful blanket, and he seemed huge at the time. The instructor was a wiry lady with weather worn skin. I was 9 and very small for my age. My parents had to push the lady to let me take lessons. I remember how it felt on the horse the first lesson. I thought I was in heaven!

Leave a Reply

