Not Lame, maybe?

I think… Ava may be sound. I rode her today and couldn’t feel any evidence of lamness. I checked her stride length in the mirrors and both hinds appeared to articulate the same degree and cover the same amount of ground.

It’s kind of a nasty cut on her hock, and right on the inside that flexes. I’ve been doctoring it up every day as best I can. It seems to be healing okay at this point. I’m not too worried about it, but if it gets infected were in deep shit so I’m keeping a close eye on it.

Except, Ava is tired of my poking and prodding her wound. She immediately lifts the leg and jumps away from me. I had to spend 20 minutes today just touching the rest of her leg to get her to relax.

I’m hoping I can start working her again at this point. If she’s still sound tomorrow then I think I’m good to go.

** Side note: I’m sitting on my front porch and the sounds from the neighbors house are cracking me up. They either have a crazed Gorilla ransaking their house, or some one is taking a massive poo after a bout with constipation.

I think I will go inside now….

Leave a Reply

