Rated Show Update – Part 2

Our second class on Saturday was Second Level Test 3. Ava was less nervous, but still tense when we trotted around to the judges stand.

All I can remember from this test is I felt like it went okay, but I messed up here and there. I could tell Ava was a bit tired. She tried her heart out though.  In the end we scored a 64.048%. Not bad for only our second attempt at that test.

Sunday it rained in the morning but the footing was good by afternoon. Our first test was Test 3, which threw me off a little. For some reason I was extremely nervous on Sunday and ended up starting our warm up 30 minutes early. Bad call on my part. By the time we got to the test poor Ava was pooped. I was a dissapointed in myself for not timing the warm up better and for letting Ava get off balance a few times during the test.
image

Our last ride of the day was Second Level Test 2. This time we made it to the warm up with about 7 minutes to spare. We did a quick check of responsiveness, and in we went. I was so tired. I felt like I was just hanging on while Ava carried me through the test. Ava did a great job carrying me though. She was a bit heavy and on her forehand a bit, but overall it was smooth.
image

Final Scores
Saturday:
Second Level Test 2 – 67.105% First place
Second Level Test 3 – 64.048% First Place

Sunday:
Second Level Test 2 – 64.737% First Place
Second Level Test 3 – 66.786% First Place

We also won the USDF/Dover Saddlery Medal for the 66.786% on our last ride!The USDF/Dover Saddlery Medal is presented to the highest scoring Second Level adult amateur of the show. You also get a $20 gift certificate when you win the Dover Medal.
image

In addition, Ava and I also won the Second Level Adult Amateur Championship.

image

Overall, a very successful and awesome show. I still can’t believe we did so well. I went in to the show not expecting to place at all. My only goal was to score oveer 60 at my first rated show as an adult.

image

image

image

image

Also, you know it’s been over 20 years since I’ve gone to a rated show. I expected the people to be less friendly than they were. Everyone I met at the show was amazing, friendly, willing to give a hand or whatever you might need. It was the friendliest show I’ve ever gone to. The staff was amazing too. I had so much fun, and even the big name trainers were friendly. It was awesome!

Oh, unrelated to dressage. I get to work on Monday morning feeling all good about my awesome weekend and I promptly get yelled at by three different people. Luckily my job keeps me humble. Very humble. I wish it would do a bit less of a good job in teaching me humility.

9 thoughts on “Rated Show Update – Part 2

  1. Very impressive! Especially when we know how much time,hard work and diligence(and patience!) it takes to show. Good for you and Ava!

    Like

    • Thank you. I discovered I need to work out more to keep moving up the levels. I felt like I did 4 jazzercise sessions in a row. Not that I’ve ever jazzercised, but that’s what I assume it’d be like… me breathing like a freight train while I desperately struggle to control my limbs. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Rated Show Videos and Score Sheets – Part 3 | Avandarre In Dressage

  3. Pingback: Series Champion! | Avandarre In Dressage

Leave a Reply

