Thundering Hooves & Ramblings

Yesterday I went out to the barn for a quick second to say Hi to Ava and give her some apples.  She’s out in the pasture, head down eating grass, when I arrive. I walked down to her pasture, open the gate, and walk into the pasture. When I look up, I see Ava barreling toward me. Head up, mane flowing, white legs lifted high. She is headed straight for me in a big, fast trot.  Two feet in front of me Ava suddenly stops and politely sniffs my outstretched hand.

I don’t know quite when it happened, but somewhere along the way I started trusting Ava. That wasn’t there that long ago. It used to be that if she turned away from me I would scurry backward a safe distance from her hind hooves. Or when she came racing up to me I’d quickly duck behind the gate to give her a solid wall to stop in front of. But lately, when she turns away from me I may run my hand down her rump for fun, but I don’t worry about her kicking me. Or yesterday, with her zooming at me, it didn’t even cross my mind that she wouldn’t stop. It was one of those moments where you kind of go “Huh, that’s cool”.20130814_192519

Anyway, I’ve spent this week just spending some time with Ava: no riding and no demands on her to perform. We’ll pick up again with training on Sunday. I really miss having my horse at home with me. Being able to spend time with the horse in their own environment without any constraints, or pressure, on them is a great way to build trust and harmony with the horse. Finding time to do that with a full time job when the horse is boarded is difficult. At least it’s a lot easier now that Ava is closer.

I’m having issues with people moving my saddle at the barn. I normally wouldn’t care, but they put my saddle on the highest rack. I literally can only reach the bottom of the leg flap when it’s on that rack. And I can’t figure out why they move it. There’s only 2 of us that ride regularly at the barn and the person moving my saddle is not one of those two. My feeling is that if you can’t come to the barn regularly, then you don’t get the good saddle racks. If you ride all the time (i.e. have to grab your saddle every day), then you should get a saddle rack that’s not such a pain to use. You want prime real estate, then show up and ride!

ETA: Now you’re asking yourself, “if they never show up, why is your saddle always moved?”. Well, you caught me… I over exaggerated, it’s only been three times. But still, it’s annoying.

One thought on “Thundering Hooves & Ramblings

Leave a Reply

