Liebster Blog Award

I was nominated for the Liebster Blog Award!  Bakersfield Dressage nominated me for the award. If you haven’t read Karen’s blog, you need to. She’s a brilliant writer who is documenting her journey from Endurance rider to Dressage competitor (serious competition in dressage too).  I have so much admiration for her determination, courage, and perseverance. Thank you for nominating me Karen!
I copy and pasted the “how to accept part”.
HOW TO ACCEPT THE AWARD: The Liebster Blog Award is a way to recognize blogs who have less than 200 followers. Liebster is a German word that means beloved and valued. Here are the rules for accepting the award:

  • Thank the person who nominated you and include a link back to their blog.
  • List 11 random facts about yourself.
  • Answer the 11 questions given to you.
  • Create 11 questions for the bloggers you nominate.
  • Choose 11 bloggers with 200 or fewer followers to nominate and include links to their blogs.
  • Go to each blogger’s page and let them know you have nominated them.
11 Random Facts

  1. I am 4’11” tall. I have been stuck at this height since I was 11 years old. I am still waiting on that growth spurt.
  2. When I was 29 I fractured my T10 – T12 vertebrae and broke my arm. My back still causes me an immense amount of pain.
  3. I was in the Marine Corps for 4 years. Honorably discharged as a Lance Corporal. I was activated for Iraq, but never sent due to a broken back.
  4. I didn’t go to college until I was 30. I wrote my first computer program at 32. I got my first programming job at 33.
  5. I owned two coffee shops with my sibling when I was in my very early 20’s. I learned that being your own boss is far harder than being an underling.
  6. In my 20’s I decided to move to Texas. I drove 2 thousand miles with just my dog and a backpack. I moved back north a month later when I realized how hot it is there.
  7. I once ran 3 miles in 23 1/2 minutes. I now run 3 miles in approx 45 minutes. This is supposition since I can’t run a full 3 miles anymore.
  8. I once had a pet woodchuck named Chucky. He chittered when he was happy and followed me around like a puppy. He loved being petted and would crawl on your lap and snuggle with you.
  9. I am severely introverted. I’m not shy.
  10. I had a beer with Jeffrey Deaver (author) once.
  11. I own my own house, have a dog, two cats, a horse, and a brilliantly kind and wonderful husband. Life is good.
11 Questions Answered

  1. Where did you meet the love of your life?
    At a coffee shop. I was avoiding a stressful situation where I was staying at, so I was hanging out at a neighborhood coffee shop, and these two brothers walked in and struck up a conversation with me.
  2. You’ve just won the lottery. Would you quit your job?
    Maybe. Probably. But I wouldn’t quit programming. I’d just modify what I do so that I could work on things that were more in line with horse stuff.
  3. Black tack or brown?
    Black, but that’s because it looks better on my horse. If brown looked sharp on the horse then I’d use that.
  4. Where is one place you wouldn’t want to visit?
    I dislike touristy areas. I don’t particulary like big cities. Flint. I would never voluntarily visit Flint or Detroit.
  5. What’s your favorite horse book?
    Black stallion. Loved those books as a kid.
    Or 101 Dressage Exercises is good. And Centered Riding. I loved Max Gahwylers books. I met him once. Very nice man.
  6. How many riding disciplines have you tried?
    I started out western, and rode western for probably a year to two years. Then switched to jumping. The barn I was taking lessons from wasn’t the greatest (safety wise), so I moved to a new barn. They did Saddleseat. So I tried my hand at saddleseat for a while. I’ve done barrel racing, pole bending, jumping, western and hunter pleasure, halter, trail classes (fun), etc. etc. I still love dressage the best.
  7. Is there something you won’t do with your horse?
    As long as it’s safe for the horse, then I don’t see the harm with it. I’m not sure I’d ever do Eventing though. That scares the daylights out of me.
  8. Favorite barn snack?
    Apples, because they are easily portable and shareable. 😉
  9. Do you have a “guilty” pleasure?
    I love sweets!! Anything with chocolate. And laying in my pj’s watching netflix. I enjoy both those activities WAY too much! My middle keeps expanding.
  10. What’s your favorite brand of potato chips?
    I’m not a fan of potato chips, but like Doritos.
  11. Do you prefer “fancy” breeches, or just plain jane?
    Plain Jane. Well, honestly, I don’t know. I never have any money so I go for inexpensive. And I’m too self-conscious about my body and my riding to wear the fancy stuff. If I were less insecure, I think I would totally rock the fancy breeches!
11 Questions for You

  1. What accomplishments are you most proud of? Why?
  2. What was your biggest challenge? Did you overcome it yet, and if so, how? Or what have you learned from it?
  3. When training your horse, how do you (if you do) plan out what to work on for the ride, the week, the month?
  4. What is the most inspirational thing an instructor, mentor, or friend as said to you?
  5. What are your goals for the next year, five years, and lifetime?
  6. Tell us about your worst training problem that you’ve overcome (i.e. difficult horse, or some element of training that you or the horse weren’t getting but finally did).
  7. How do you stay fit for riding?
  8. If you work outside of horses, how do you manage fitting horses in?
  9. What is the one thing you want right this moment?
  10. What is one life lesson you would want people to know?
  11. How do you determine how far to take your horse’s training?

11 Awesome Blogs (in no particular order)

  1. Maris Soule
  2. Dressage Training Journal
  3. Hamrat’s Blog
  4. http://dressagerider.wordpress.com/
  5. A Horse Named Hannah
  6. Positively Riveting
  7. How Big Your Brave Is
  8. http://littledressage.blogspot.com/
  9. http://briannadressage.blogspot.com/
  10. Princess Diva Diaries
  11. http://halfpass.wordpress.com/
2 thoughts on “Liebster Blog Award

  1. I love your random answers. For me, that is the best part of this round of the Liebster Blog Award. It is so interesting what people have done or experienced outside of horses. You’ve been busy in life! (Thanks for the kind words, by the way. :0)

    Like

Leave a Reply

