Rider Tests – I’m doing them

I’m competing this Saturday at a schooling show, and I signed up for the First and Second Level Rider Tests. I really like how the tests flow. I like the difficulty levels. I like that its not about my horse’s gaits, but about how well I ride and how responsive my mare is. I like those aspects… but dang those tests are hard! As a rider, you have to stay balanced and proactive at all times. There are only a few spots where you have time to set the horse up a little. On the other hand, my mare didn’t have time to get bored, and she was forced to pay extra attention.

In my quest to learn more about the tests, I researched videos of Rider Tests. I can only find two (2) videos anywhere (for 1st and 2nd). Either no one rides those tests, or no one is willing to post their videos after they ride them.

Both tests have changed somewhat since these two videos were taken.

Here are the videos I found:

First Level Rider Test

Second Level Rider Test

Links to the Rider Tests:

Training Level: https://www.usef.org/documents/disciplines/dressage/tests/2013TrainingLevelRiderTest.pdf

First Level: https://www.usef.org/documents/disciplines/dressage/tests/2013FirstLevelRiderTest.pdf

Second Level: https://www.usef.org/documents/disciplines/dressage/tests/2013SecondLevelRiderTest.pdf

I am determined to post any video I may get of my Rider Tests, regardless of how piss poor they may be. This void of Rider Test videos needs to be rectified!!

If you know of any First or Second level Rider Test videos, post the link in the comments section.

2 thoughts on “Rider Tests – I’m doing them

  1. I didn’t even knew these existed! I’ll have to research more – what a great way to focus on your own correctness.

    BTW I got an email for your comment on my post although blogger isn’t showing the comment for some reason. Please do feel free to continue on the 60 Eq Questions =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

