My Horse is Weird

Yesterday I was getting Ava ready to ride. Everything was going swimmingly. Ava was her normal saintly self. I brush her down, pick her hooves, tack her up….

I lead her into the arena and halt her so I can pull down the stirrups and tighten the girth one last time. Before I can do either of those things, out of the corner of my eye, I catch Ava giving me that “look”. You know that look. The one that says “Haha, she’ll never see this coming”.

And suddenly Ava is rearing up in the air! Her front legs just a little to close to my head for my comfort level.

It seemed like forever….

And then she had all four hooves on the ground again.

I massively scolded her as soon as her front hooves touched dirt, and let her know how horribly unacceptable that was. But Ava just shook her head and snarled at me!!

And then BAM, Miss sweetness and light was back and happily doing whatever I asked of her.

Okay, fine, her attitude change may have had more to do with the furious little dwarf threatening her with death…. but still… It’s was a total night to day type change. It was just weird.

One thought on “My Horse is Weird

Leave a Reply

