The Scene

I’ve had a horrible past few weeks. My company had massive layoffs (thankfully I still have a job), and it scared the bejesus outta me.

Then my barn raised board.

My husband started school and books were far more expensive then we had budgeted for. Plus, our fuel costs skyrocketed!

And to top it off, I’ve had extremely complex, fried my little brain out, projects (with short deadlines) the past 2 months.

Anyway… Last night I get to the barn and see the barn owner start to bring in the mares for dinner. I rush to the bathroom, change into riding clothes, and race back to help bring in horses. By this point there are two mares left in the pasture (Ava and her buddy). Normally the buddy rules over Ava. The buddy pushes Ava off the hay, off the waterer, whatever. Both mares are at the gait and the buddy is closest so I snap the lead on her. At this point Ava gives me this “Oh no you didn’t!” look, and starts pushing her way to the gate. I start swinging the end of the lead at Ava, but every time I do the busy horse gets scared and backs up. I suddenly see Ava give this look of “I’M GOING FOR IT!!!” and plows into buddy horse, ripping the lead from my hand. At this point, the gate is wide open, and Ava’s trotting off toward the barn. I grab the lead rope still attached to the buddy (who hasn’t moved a single foot), give buddy a pat and walk her back to her stall.

I get inside and the barn owner tells me Ava went right to her stall and started eating, and the barn owner just had to close the stall door behind her.

Whew!

Doh!!

After I get the buddy secure in her stall the barn owner says, “You don’t have to help bring in the other horses.” Frankly, I took that as a “please stop ‘helping’!!!”.

Just one of those nights! 🙂

One thought on “The Scene

  1. Don’t you love when your help isn’t needed?!

    Feeling the money squeeze here too…our board raised at the 1st of the year also, just when the government decides to increase ss taxes.

    Hang in there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

