Tuesday Lesson

Latest update. Our lesson On Tuesday went well. I rode in the outdoor arena, and Ava hates it out there. I’m guessing on this, but I think it’s because the horses in the pastures look like disembodied heads from inside the outdoor arena. Who knows? She hates it. So to add an element of challenge… one of the horses was flying around it’s paddock like a banshee on fire. This is exactly the point where I’m supposed to work on canter zigzags. Haha. I can’t say those were very successful. I felt like I was riding a thousand pounds of GO! Full steam ahead and all luggage better hold on for dear life!

Okay, it wasn’t THAT bad. But the brakes weren’t good, and the half halts had zero effect.

Here’s the gist of the lesson….

LOOSEN UP!!!!!!

It’s really difficult to not brace when you constantly feel like you’re being bounced out of the saddle. I flop worse than a two legged toad.

It’s human nature to tighten up and grip, I realize that, but loosening my death grip loosened Ava right up.

What I’d like to know is how do I fall into these totally moronic ways of riding. Things I KNOW don’t work, cause problems, etc. yet I inevitably get stuck in one until Bern can come smack me upside the head (gotta jar me loose sometimes).

Oh well, for now, at least, we’re back on the right track. šŸ˜‰

Stay loose!

And try to stay cool.

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Lesson

Leave a Reply

